Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging

2014 - 2015 Academic Year


Updated as of May 2014.

Information related to specific course offerings was obtained directly from departments and course instructors and may change during the academic year. Please check with the departments or Office of Geriatrics and Gerontology at 293-8031 or mauger.10@osu.edu to be sure specific courses will be offered as indicated. Regarding Semester Conversion: Please contact Linda Mauger at 614-293-8031 or mauger.10@osu.edu if you have questions regarding your individual plan of study or more general questions regarding class schedules, etc.

Print Master List

Core Courses

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
Social Work 7610: Integrative Seminar I on Aging and Health G 3 (Required course) Autumn 2014; Spring 2015 Virginia E. Richardson, Ph.D., richardson.2@osu.edu (Spr) John Gregory
HTHRHSC 7650S: Case Studies in Clinical Gerontology U G 2 (Required course) Pre-requisite: SW 7610 Spring 2015; Summer 2015 Margaret H. Teaford, Ph.D., teaford.1@osu.edu, along with HTHRHSC is Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, formerly Allied Medicine
MedColl 7700.04 Interprofessional Seminar in Clinical Practice G 2-3 (Students select either MedColl 7700.04 or SW 7702) Autumn 2014; Spring 2015; Summer 2015 James F. Lamb, M.D., james.lamb@osumc.edu (Contact Linda Mauger at 293-8031 or linda.mauger @osumc.edu at least one month prior to semester in which you plan to take course.)
SW 7702: Research Issues in Gerontology G 3 (Students may select either SW 7702 or MedColl 7700.04) Spring 2015 Virginia E. Richardson, Ph.D., richardson.2@osu.edu

Elective Courses

Elective Courses (Please note: Elective courses identified with an * are intended only for students within the college/school offering the course. All other electives are open to all students pursuing the Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging.)

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
*Anthropology 5193.07: Physical Anthropology, Independent Study
U G 1-4
Ongoing Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu (Please contact Douglas Crews, Ph.D., at 292-1329 for appointment.)
Anthropology 5642: Growth, Development, & Aging U G 3 Spring 2015 (Offered every other year)
Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Anthropology 5645: Biology of Senescence U G 3 Spring 2015 (offered every other year) Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Arts & Sciences 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine; Allied Med and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2015--Second Session Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu and Maria Pruchnicki, Ph.D., pruchnick.1@osu.edu
*ESCE 3193.40: Individual Studies U G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
ESCE 5634: Health Ed Counseling U G 3 2014/15 Information Forthcoming Kate King, Ph.D., king.118@osu.edu
ESCE 5880.01: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 Spring 2015 Michael Casto, Ph.D., casto.2@osu.edu
ESCE 5880.03: Ethical Issues Common to the Helping Professions U G 2 Autumn 2014 Michael Casto, Ph.D., casto.2@osu.edu
ESCE 5880.04S: Interprofessional Practicum in Clinical Practice U G 3 2014/15 Information Forthcoming To Be Announced
HDFS 5430: Adult Development and Aging U G 3 May Term 2015 Eugene Folden, Ph.D., folden.1@osu.edu
HDFS 993: Individual Studies G 1-5 Ongoing With Faculty direction
HTHRHSC 5600: Global Aging G 3 Summer 2015 (Offered every other year) Margaret H. Teaford, Ph.D., teaford.1@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5610: Death, Loss, and Grief From Multiple Perspectives G 2 Autumn 2014; Spring 2015 Monica Robinson, O.T., M.S., monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5650: Aging and Public Policy Issues G 3 Autumn 2014 Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5660: Longterm Care Services Across the Continuum G 4 Spring 2015 Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.01: Seminar on Interprofessional Care G 2 Spring 2015 Michael Casto, Ph.D., casto.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.03: Interprofessional Seminar on Ethical Issues Common to the Helping Professions UG and G 2 Autumn 2014 Michael Casto, Ph.D., casto.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 6193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
HTHRHSC 7010: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2015--Second Session Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu and Maria Pruchnicki, Ph.D., pruchnicki.1@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 7193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
HTHRHSC 7600: Introduction to Gerontology (Cross listed with SW 7610) G 2 Not offered 2014-2015 Margaret H. Teaford, Ph.D., teaford.1@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 7620: Aging, Accessibility and Design U G 3 Spring 2015 Margaret H. Teaford, Ph.D., teaford.1@osu.edu
Int Med 7795: Issues and Trends in Aging G 2 (web-based course) Autumn 2014 Diana Kubovcik, LISW
*Law 7193: Individual Studies P 1-4 Autumn 2014; Spring 2015 With Faculty Direction
*Law 796.20: Estate Planning and Drafting L 2 Not offered 2014-2015
*Law 8400: Interprofessional Education: Care of Patient/Client L 2 Spring 2015 Marya Kolman, JD, kolman.3@osu.edu
*Law 8403: Ethical Issues U P G 2 Autumn 2014 Stan Laughlin, JD, laughlin.1@osu.edu
Law 8709: Wills, Trusts and Estates L 3 Autumn 2014; Spring 2015 (Au) Ed Segelken, JD, segelken.3@osu.edu, (Spr) Allan Samansky, JD, samansky.1@osu.edu
Med Coll 5880.01: Seminar in Interprofessional Care U G 2 Spring 2015 Lorraine Wallace, MD, lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
Med Coll 6880.03: Ethical Issues Common to the Helping Professions U G 2 Autumn 2014 Donald O. Mack, M.D., FAAFP, CMD, donald.mack@osumc.edu
MedColl 7710: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences, Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2015--Second Session Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu and Maria Pruchnicki, Ph.D., pruchnicki.1@osu.edu
Music 6895: Music in Older Adulthood G 1 Not offered 2014-2015
Nursing 5111: Palliative Care and End of Life G 2 Spring 2015 Kathy Thompson, RN, Ph.D., thompson.2@osu.edu
Nursing 5880.01: Seminar on Interprofessional Care G 2 2014/15 Information Forthcoming
Nursing 5880.03: Ethical Issues Common to the Helping Professions G 2 2014/15 Information Forthcoming
Nursing 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Medicine, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2015--Second Session Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu and Maria Pruchnicki, Ph.D., pruchnicki.1@osu.edu
*Nursing 7193: Individual Studies in Nursing G 1-4 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
*Nursing 7228.01: Advanced Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum I G 3 Autumn 2014 Susan Bowman Burpee, bowman-burpee.1@osu.edu
*Nursing 7228.02 Advanced Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum II G 3 Autumn 2014 Susan Bowman Burpee, bowman-burpee.1@osu.edu
*Nursing 7268.03: Advanced Practice Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical Practicum III G 4 Didactic Credits Spring 2015 Elizabeth Barker barker.203@osu.edu, Oralea Pittman pittman.54@osu.edu, Sherry Cooper-Dye cooper-dye.1@osu.edu, Ann Scarbrough scarbrough.5@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 6120: Occupation in Life and Community G 2 Autumn 2014 Jane D Case-Smith, case-smith.1@osu.edu and Margaret H. Teaford, teaford.1@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 6250: Advanced Topics in Geriatrics G 2 Spring 2015 Monica Robinson, O.T., M.S., monica.robinson@osumc.edu
Occ Therapy 7260: Occupational Therapy for Older Adults G 2 Autumn 2014 --First Session Margaret H. Teaford, Ph.D., teaford.1@osu.edu, along with Monica Robinson, MS, OTR/L, monica.robinson@osumc.edu
*Optometry 7450.06: Vision Rehabilitation P 1-5 Ongoing (on quarter basis) Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
*Optometry 7460: Low Vision Rehabilitation and Gerontology P 5 Spring 2015 Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
Pharmacy 6193 Independent Study Ongoing With Faculty Direction
Pharmacy 7090: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Allied Med, Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences) G P 1 Spring 2015--Second Session Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu and Maria Pruchnicki, Ph.D., pruchnicki.1@osu.edu
*Pharmacy 7170: Pain, Palliative Care and Geriatrics P 3 Autumn 2014; Spring 2015 Bridget Protus, PharmD, bprotus@hospiscript.com
PUBHEPI 6435: Chronic Disease Epidemiology G 3 Autumn 2014 Randall Harris, M.D., Ph.D., harris.44@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 6610: Introduction to Health Care Organization G 3 Autumn 2014; Spring 2015 Sandra Tanenbaum, PhD, tanenbaum.1@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7611: Law and Ethics Health Care G 3 Spring 2015 Micah Berman, JD, berman.31@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7624: Economic Evaluation of Health Care Programs and Services G 3 Spring 2015 Wendy Xu, PhD, xu.1636@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7640: Mental Health and Disability Policy G 3 Spring 2015 Sandra Tanenbaum, PhD, tanenbaum.1@osu.edu
*Public Health Independent Studies PUBHBIO, PUBHEHS, PUBHHBP, PUBHEPI, PUBHHMP Individual Studies G 1-3 Ongoing With faculty Approval
Social Work 5009: Family Caregiving: Contemporary Issues, Programs & Policies G 3 (web-based course) Spring 2015 Holly Dabelko Schoeny, Ph.D., dabelko-schoeny.1@osu.edu
Social Work 5010: Women and Aging: Int'l Perspectives U G 2 Not offered 2014-2015
Social Work 5011: Loss and Grief: A Social Work Practice Perspective U G 2 Not offered 2014-2015
Social Work 5880.01: Seminar on Interprofessional Care G 2 Not offered 2014-2015
Social Work 5880.03: Ethical Issues Common to the Helping Professions G 2 Not offered 2014-2015
*Social Work 7193: Individual Studies (Masters Students) G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
Social Work 7523: Clinical Social Work Practice with Older Adults G 3 Spring 2015 Virginia E. Richardson, Ph.D., richardson.2@osu.edu
Social Work 7611: Integrative Seminar II on Aging and Health (Prereq: SW 7610) G 3 Autumn 2014, Spring 2015 (Au) Bette Speziale speziale.1@osu.edu, (Spr) Shantha Balaswamy, balaswamy.1@osu.edu
*Social Work 8193: Individual Studies (PhD Students) G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Approval
Sociology 5629: Health Disparities in Social Context U G 3 Spring 2015 Cindy Colen, Ph.D.
Speech and Hearing Science 5605: Multicultural Aspects of Communication and Its Disorders G 3 (Also 5605D, Distance Education) Autumn 2014, Spring 2015 Monique Mills, Ph.D., mills.298@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 5732: Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation U G 3 Autumn 2014; Spring 2015 (Au) Larry H. Small, small.121@osu.edu; (Spr) Julie Hazelbaker, Ph.D.,hazelbaker.22@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5760: Neurology of the Speech and Hearing Mechanism U G 3 Spring 2015 Eric Bielefeld, Ph.D., bielefeld.6@gmail.com
Speech and Hearing Science 6733: Audiologic Rehab in Adults U G 3 Summer 2015 Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 6735: Hearing Aids I U G 3 Spring 2015 Rachael Holt, Ph.D., holt.339@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6761:Cognitive Communication Disorders of Adults U G 3 Autumn 2014 Jennifer Brello, M.A., brello.1@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6762: Language Disorders in Adults U G 3 Autumn 2014 Stacy Harnish, Ph.D., harnish.18@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6763: Motor Speech Disorders in Adults U G 3 Spring 2015 Stacy Harnish, Ph.D., harnish.18@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7806: Adult Hearing Disorders G 3 Autumn 2014 Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7835: Hearing Aids II G 3 Summer 2015 Melissa Kappes, M.A., kappes.8@osu.edu
Theater 5771.08: The Practice of Theatre and Aging U G 3 Offered as Independent Study Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)
Theatre 5771.07: Crones, Curmudgeons, and Living Treasures U G 3 Offered as Independent Study Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)

Copyright © 2013 The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center and the Office of Geriatrics and Gerontology, All rights reserved.